Rennet is a substance used to coagulate milk. It contains enzymes that act on the milk protein casein, separating the milk into curds (solids) and whey (liquid). If raw milk is left for a few days, it will curdle on its own due to the action of naturally occurring bacteria that convert milk sugar (lactose) to lactic acid. The longer it is left, the more acidic it becomes, until it finally curdles. In cheese making, however, it is not desirable to have coagulation take place at a high acidity level, because the milk will coagulate too quickly. Therefore, rennet is used to bring about coagulation while the milk is still sweet.
Keep liquid rennet in the refrigerated between 4˚C and 8˚C to minimize the loss of activity.
Our rennet is non-GMO, certified Kosher and Halaal and also ideal for the production of vegetarian cheeses.